Complete List of Databases (A-Z)

Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to.  They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet.  You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.

British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Census Information
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
doaj logo Directory of Open Access Journals – A service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles’ metadata, not limited to particular languages or subject areas.
Edmark Learning Software (LearnNowBC) – LearnNowBC is a single point of entry to distributed learning in British Columbia through the use of Edmark Learning Software.
 Federal Science Library Federal Science Library – Search multiple government science library collections and repositories from a single place.  The portal allows users to view or request items from a vast collection of publications in science, technology, engineering and health and other related economic, policy and program information. Departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download. 
GreenFile [EBSCO] – Provides information related to all aspects of human impact on the environment, from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Identifies or provides full-text access to scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals and reports.
Hoopla – Allows patrons to download and stream free videos, music, audiobooks, comics and ebooks on your mobile device or computer.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
lista LISTA [EBSCO]Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, a resource to anyone interested in libraries and information management. This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
open library logo Open Library – Online library catalogue. Over 20 million edition records online, access to 1.7 million scanned versions of books and links to external sources.
Points to the Past – Access to Historical Databases for all BC Residents.
RBdigital Magazines – Offers full text and full images from 200 popular magazines. Can be read on your computer or downloaded via the RB Digital app.
RBdigital Indieflix – This streaming movie collection of 8,000 titles provides unlimited access to award-winning independent shorts, feature films, classic TV and international documentaries from 85 countries. Search or browse the collection by: country, film festival or language.
Salt Spring ArchivesAn on-line collection of historical photos of Salt Spring Island.
Teacher Reference Center [EBSCO]Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Teen Health & Wellness Database Real life – real answers.
Times Colonist Online Edition 1858-1910Free and fully searchable database of the first 100,000 pages published by the Times Colonist, covering every issue from Dec. 11, 1858 to 1910 including advertisements and announcements.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.