Skip to content

Our Supporters 2022-2023

Salt Spring Island Public Library sincerely thanks all of our donors and partner organizations who contribute to provide the best service and resources possible to our island community.

Because of your support:

  • Teens have a comfortable space in the library to connect, study and create
  • A new innovative FabLab/MakerSpace is available so that all can access creative cutting edge technology
  • Children can enjoy the new Reading Roost board book shelving and seating unit
  • We can maintain our collection and expand collection development in BIPOC, LGBTQIA2S+, Health and Environmental titles
  • We have programming for everyone including author talks, poetry open mic, bridge, youth and children’s, and reconciliation programs
  • We can provide more digital resources to our patrons
  • We will continue to innovate and work toward fulfilling our Strategic Initiatives and our Mission Statement “We build opportunities for everyone to learn, connect and explore”. Read more about our Strategic Plan.


Our Donors and Partners for 2022 – 2023

Sally and Glen Rycroft Endowment Fund Vancity Community Foundation – Quart Family Fund Vera Algoet
Phoebe Andrew Rita and Marc Archer Diane Armstrong
Jane Armstrong Jennifer Barrett Maryanne Benwood Lynn Blanche
Charles Breth Seniors Bridge Club Hannah Brown Philip and Kumiko Bruecker
Nadine Buckinger Michael Butler John & Gladys Campbell Blair Carley
Deni Cashin Romy Chapman Gary and Margaret Cherneff Jennifer Coghlan
Lynda Cole Phyllis Coleman Kathleen Collins Clayne Conings
Mary Lou Cuddy Don and Arlene Dashwood Sandra DeAthe Joan Dickenson
Ron Watts and Donna Hall Sharon Glover and Douglas Wilkins J.P and R.M. Dupuy Amelia J Elder
Susan Evans Carole Eyles Sharon Farquharson Lindsay Fennell
Alexandra Fischer Toby Fouks Lynne Fraser Mary Fraser
Barbara Freitas Dale Genge Charlotte Goelz Randy Gray
Cristina Green Hugh & Mary Greenwood William Griffiths Mary and Peter Grove
Brenda Guiled Ken and Marian Hargrove Ron Hawkins Andrew Heard
Frances Hill Ashley and Wendy Hilliard Helen Hinchliff Don Hodgins
M. Joy Holland Marlyn Horsdal Karen Hudson Alan or Mary Hughes
Regan Hunt Robyn Huntley Peter Lamb and Jean Gelwicks Charles Kahn
Elva & David Kellington Betty Kempling Jane Kidd Paula Kiffner
John Klein Philip Lake Michelle Layard Catherine Lewis
Daryl Logan Jo-Anna Logan Christine Lowther John and Margaret Lowther
James and Anne MacAulay Susan MacLeod Garry MacPherson Roger Mah Poy
Rosemary Mann Leanne Marriot Karen and Frederick Martin Karen Goad and Martin Hanam
Colin Maskell John Mason Christine Mauro Maureen McCaffferty
Pauline McCarthy Maughan Cora McCrea Celia and Karl Meade Jeanne- Marie Herman and Michael Ableman
Pat Miller Loretta Minvielle Diana Mitchell John Moore
Janellen Neil Terrell Nelson Thi My Dung Nguyen Judy Norget
Lesley and Peter Nuk Murray and Judy Nurse Victoria Olchowecki Sylvia J Ommanney
Wiebke Ortlepp Patricia Parkes Douglas Paterson Susan Paynter
Andrew Peat Jane and Lyle Petch John Phillips Claire Pickering
Premilla Pillay Philip Porter Fred and Nancy Powell Ian Raffel
Nina Raginsky Margaret Rajala Craig Robinson Christine Roome
Roberta Ruckle Susan Russell Margriet Ruurs Arleen Sadler
Aisia Salo Morgan Savin Beryl Scott Laura Scott
Rodney Scotvold David Secord Stanley Shapiro Kristin Shoolbraid
Joanne and Jeremy Sibley Hamish and Tricia Simpson Gail Sjuberg Barry & Sheila Spence
Gregory Spendjian Patricia Spiers Desmond St. Lawrence Linda Stafford
Roberta Starke Lorrie Storr Sabine Sweirenga Donald Taylor
Jacqueline Thomas Melanie Thompson Ida Marie Threadkell Barbara Tipton
Anthony Tong Debbi Toole Andrea Varju John Wakefield
Michael Wall Joan Watterson Clive Whitfield Audrey Wild
W. Williams Michael Winter Fiona Wolfe-Milner Susan Wood
Ronald Wright Eileen Wttewaall Anne Zeller Gerard and Maureen Zentner

…and many anonymous donors!

Our Supporting Organizations

  • Capital Regional District
  • BC Ministry of Municipal Affairs
  • IslandLink Library Federation
  • Salt Spring Island Foundation
  • Philip and Muriel Berman Foundation
  • Deux Mille Foundation
  • Salt Spring Potters Guild
  • Times Colonist Literacy Society
  • Canadian Council of Archives – Young Canada Works
  • Government of Canada – Canada Summer Jobs
  • Service Canada –  New Horizons for Seniors
  • Courthouse Libraries of BC
  • Country Grocer
  • SEI Industries
  • Suncor
  • The Wilding Foundation


A special thanks to all of our volunteers who serve in all areas of the Library operations and our Board of Trustees who serve in Library governance.  We wouldn’t be here without you!

Do you need information on how to donate or on how to volunteer?